2009 Gold Cup to be Played in Record 13 Different U.S Cities


Each venue will host one doubleheader except for the final at Giants Stadium, with the quarterfinals set for Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia (Saturday, 18 July) and Dallas (Sunday, 19 July), and the semifinals at Soldier Field in Chicago (Thursday, 23 July).


Besides Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus (7 July), RFK Stadium in Washington (8 July) and the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona (12 July), other first-round venues include: Qwest Field in Seattle (4 July), Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in Oakland, California (5 July), Reliant Stadium in Houston (9 July), FIU Stadium in Miami (10 July), and Gillette Stadium in the Boston suburb of Foxborough, Massachusetts (11 July).


“While 13 cities create logistical challenges, we think the benefits of reaching out to more venues are clearly worthwhile,” CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said. “The ability of so many people to see national teams play we feel is well worth the effort.”


The tournament will use the same format as in 2005 and 2007, with the 12-team field divided into three, four-team groups.  The top two teams from each group will advance to the quarterfinals along with the two best third-place teams.


The three first-round groups for the qualifiers: Canada, Mexico and the USA from the North Zone; Panama, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador and Nicaragua from Central America; and Jamaica, Grenada, Guadeloupe and Haiti from the Caribbean, and schedule will be announced at a later time.


The Gold Cup was played in six different cities in its two most recent editions, including two stadia in Los Angeles in 2005 (the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and The Home Depot Center).


This will be the second time Giants Stadium has staged the final and first since 2005. Miami will see the Gold Cup for the seventh straight time, although it will be the first time at FIU Stadium, while the Los Angeles area will stage matches for the eighth time in 10 tournaments.

Games will be played on modern synthetic surfaces in four stadiums: Qwest Field, FIU Stadium, Gillette Stadium and the New Dallas Cowboys Stadium. Grass will be laid over the existing surface for the final in Giants Stadium.


Groups and a full schedule as well as ticket information will be available in the coming weeks.



First Round

3 July – The Home Depot Center (Los Angeles)

4 July – Qwest Field (Seattle)

5 July – Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (San Francisco)

7 July – Crew Stadium (Columbus, Ohio)

8 July – Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (Washington)

9 July – Reliant Stadium (Houston)

10 July – Florida International University Stadium (Miami)

11 July – Gillette Stadium (Boston)

12 July – University of Phoenix Stadium (Phoenix)



18 July – Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia)

19 July – Dallas Cowboys New Stadium (Dallas)



23 July – Soldier Field (Chicago)



26 July – Giants Stadium (New York)



For more detailed information about the venues and teams, please visit our website, www.CONCACAF.com




CONCACAF “The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football” is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is composed of 40 national associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Suriname and French Guyana in the south.