21 Additional Counties Eligible for Public Assistance Funding in Florida

ORLANDO, Fla. – Twenty-one Florida counties are now eligible to apply for additional funding under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas that sustained damage from Hurricane Irma.

Baker, Broward, Charlotte, Clay, Collier, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hendry, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Palm Beach, Pasco, Putnam, Pinellas, Sarasota, and St. Johns counties may request funding under the Public Assistance grant program. Assistance may cover eligible debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair or rebuilding of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

The president’s Sept. 10 major disaster declaration for Florida was for damage caused by Hurricane Irma. The declaration was amended to make Public Assistance funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for all categories of work, including debris removal, emergency protective measures, restoration of public facilities and infrastructure, and direct federal assistance.

Public Assistance funding for the state and designated counties may include payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for debris removal and emergency protective measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health as a result of the storm.

Application procedures for state and local governments will be explained at a series of state/federal applicant briefings to be announced in the affected areas. Approved projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA.

All 67 Florida counties were included in an emergency declaration signed by the President on Sept. 5, before Irma made landfall in Florida. This made emergency protective measures and debris removal eligible for reimbursement.

Under the Sept. 10 major disaster declaration, individuals and households in Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Levy,

Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, and St. Lucie, Sumter, Suwannee, Union, and Volusia counties may apply for federal disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Irma.

For more information on the Florida recovery, visit fema.gov/hurricane-irma.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.


FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.